Community Food Security Experts- Local Success Stories

Berkeley/Oakland/Bay Area
    Penny Leff, Berkeley Farmers Market, Expert on EBT issues
    Phone: 510-548-3333
    penny@ecologycenter.org
    Location: Berkeley, CA

    Dana Harvey, Environmental Science Institute & West Oakland Food Project Collaborative - Organizing farmers markets and increasing access to fresh and nutritious food in West Oakland
    Phone: 510-534-7657
    Envsciinst@earthlink.net
    Location: West Oakland, CA

Central Valley
    Christine Cherdboonmuang and Karina Serna coordinate Farm Fresh Choice, a Berkeley-based program, with produce supplied by AMO Organics (Hollister, CA)
    Phone: 510-848-1704
    christine@ecologycenter.org
    karina@ecologycener.org
    Location: Berkeley, CA

    Edie Jussup, Fresno Access - Expert on education and outreach on food access issues in the Central Valley
    Phone: 559-485-1416
    Edie@fresnometmin.org
    Location: Fresno, CA

Los Angeles Metro Area
    Francesca de la Rosa, Expert on Soda Ban in the LA Unified School District; organizer for the Healthy School Food Coalition
    Phone: 323-341-5097
    fdlr@oxy.edu
    Location: Los Angeles, CA

    Andrew Glazier, Chief of Staff, LAUSD Board Member Marlene Canter's office - Their office introduced the LAUSD Obesity Prevention Motion
    Phone: 213-241-7003 (direct)
    andrew.glazier@lausd.net
    Location: Los Angeles, CA

    Anupama Joshi, Program Manager, California Farm to School Program, Center for Food and Justice, Occidental College - Involved with "Fresh from the Farm"
    Phone: 323-341-5095
    ajoshi@oxy.edu
    Location: Los Angeles, CA

    Charlene Orzsag, Tierra Miguel CSA Farm - "Fresh from the Farm" CSA in the Classroom pilot program supplying boxes of fresh, seasonal produce to over 1000 LAUSD classrooms
    Phone: 760-742-4213 /1199
    choassoc@aol.com
    Location: Pauma Valley, CA

    Neelam Sharma, New Panther Vanguard Movement, is working on a project in the South Central LA area involving community and students
    Phone: (323) 296-2038
    neelam@globalpanther.com
    Location: Los Angeles, CA

Ventura
    Jim Churchill - Farmer working to organize growers to collaboratively market to schools in the region
    Phone: 805-646-4212
    jrchurchill@earthlink.net
    Location: Ojai, CA

    Sandy Van Houten, Food Service Director, Ventura USD
    Phone: (805) 641-5050
    svanhouten@vtusd.k12.ca.us
    Location: Ventura, CA

Santa Monica
    Tracie Thomas, Santa Monica Malibu USD Farmers Market Salad Bars
    Phone: 310-450-8338 ext. 342
    thomas@smmusd.org
    Location: Santa Monica, CA

    Laura Avery, Santa Monica Farmers Market Manager
    Phone: (310) 458-8712 X 6
    greens2845@aol.com
    Location: Santa Monica, CA

San Diego
    Enid Hohn, Food Service Director, Vista Unified School District. Tackling vending machine issue and doing some creative things with the school lunch program.
    Phone: 760-726-2170, ext. 2217
    Location: Vista, CA

Sacramento
    Karrie Stevens, Program Director, Economic Options/Community Food Systems Community Alliance with Family Farmers & Steering Committee member of California Food and Justice Coalition
    Phone: 530.756.8518 ext. 14
    karrie@caff.org
    Location: Davis, CA

    Marion Kalb, National Farm to School Program Director, Community Food Security Coalition
    Phone: 530-756-8518, Ext. 32
    marion@foodsecurity.org
    Location: David, CA

Other Farm to School programs in California
    Rafaelita Curva, FS Director, Davis USD
    Phone: 530-757-5385, Ext. 119 / 121
    rcurva@djusd.k12.ca.us
    Location: Davis, CA

    Christine Dutton, FS Director, Winters USD Phone: 530-795-6109
    cdutton@wintersjusd.org
    Location: Winters, CA